The Flat Share

The Flat Share

By Beth O'Leary

No spoilers I swear!

"I have every intention of continuing to look at you in this fashion for many moons to come."

I first read this wonderful book back in June and it was one of the best debut books I have ever read. Beth O'Leary is a fresh writer who wrote this book while on the train to and from work which makes me smile. I wonder when she wrote this book she would of ever thought it would get published and be such a success.

The story follows two characters, Tiffy and Leon and each chapter is in there point of view. After Tiffy, an editor, falls on hard times and is in need of a cheap place to live in London on her crap wages she sees an ad to flat share. Leon, a night nurse, is struggling to make ends meet and needs the extra cash so he sends out an ad to flat share his one bed flat. While Leon is at work, Tiffy has the place to herself and while Tiffy is at work in the day, Leon has the place to himself which means that they never have to see each other. Perfect right?

I know it sounds like one of those rom-coms that is predictable in every way but this is definitely not that. Both characters have there own problems which are explored and you get a real feel for the characters and not only are they honest but they are quirky and awkward. Tiffy is one of my favourite and most memorable characters I have ever read, she is quirky and different and isn't afraid to be herself which is refreshing and brave. Leon is quiet and shy and awkward but he is caring and has one of the biggest hearts. These are the type of characters that you want to be real.

Although the story is full of humour and romance, it also has a dark side. Tiffy has an obsessive ex-boyfriend, without giving too much away, Justin is charming yet intimidating. What I love about this inclusion of Justin is that O'Leary touches on a subject that many of us would hide away from and applying it to this type of genre really brings the book to life. No longer is it a fantasy of romance but its real life, and people really go through this. You really have to read the book in order to understand what I'm saying.

This is a fabulous book that I will probably, most likely revisit, it is definitely one of a kind and is full of humour, romance, drama, a bit of mystery and may make you cry. I know it made me cry. Its one of those books that you can't put down and is really easy to follow. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Bella Osborne will love this novel.

A brilliant debut! I cannot wait to see what else O'Leary has to offer.

Rating out of 5: 5*

After all tomorrow is another day of reading.

Till next time,

Phoebe x


 

©2019 by The Yorkshire Bookworm. Proudly created with Wix.com