One Day In Winter

One Day In Winter

By Shari Low

No Spoilers I swear!

Published by Aria (Sept 5th 2019)

(Originally named One Day in December, published in 2017)


A brilliant winter tale where four lives will never be the same again after one fateful day in Glasgow. Full of highs and lows, this book is one emotional roller-coaster you won't forget. Heart breaking, brave and warm, this book is perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Josie Silver's One Day in December.


The blurb:

One morning in December...

Caro sets out to find out if her relationship with her father has been a lifetime of lies and deceit.

Lila decides its finally time to tell her lover's wife about their seven year affair.

Cammy is planning on proposing to the girl he loves.

And Bernadette vowed that today will be the day she finally leaves her controlling husband of 30 years and never look back.

One day, four lives, this is a day that non of them will forget.


Sounds good right? Stories like this make me think of rom-coms such as Love Actually and He's Just Not That Into You, where a group of individuals that don't know each other, find there paths crossing on one fateful day.


Shari Low writes beautifully and even though there is multiple characters and complex scenes, Low makes it easy and understandable to read. You find yourself lost and consumed in the lives of these individuals where you get a real feel for what they are experiencing and going through.


The book is split into time frames and each mini chapter is of a different character. I found myself loving Caro, who I could relate to a lot, she is a kind character who has had it really tough in the recent years, yet she doesn't let that define her, instead she confronts it head on. I loved how strong and humble Caro was and took an instant liking to her, I wanted her to come out on top from the first page.

Bernadette is another character I adored, she like Caro in how strong she is. Bernadette is another character you find yourself rooting for, hiding in the shadows and living in fear of her husband, its incredible when she finally finds her voice, so much so that you find yourself screaming and fist pumping the air in pure relief.

Cammy is also an excellent character, a man who is flawed by sheer bad luck, Cammy is a character that represents past mistakes and the regrets he has, regrets that we probably all have, and its refreshing to see that in this book. Cammy is often reflecting and dwelling on this regrets and in a way in makes his character so much more human and I love that.

I'd mention Lila but if I do, I'll end up ruining it for the ones that haven't had the pleasure of reading this book.


I loved this book, I found myself not being able to put it down. I even took it to my art history lecture and read it in the break where Robert asked me about it before leaving me be. This is a book that is so emotional and hits you with all the feels. I found myself rooting for some characters and absolutely despising and hating others. The storytelling was becoming so real that I could see this book play out as a film, the paths crossed on this fateful day is so special and unique that I wanted to read more. So imagine my surprise when I found out that there is two more books! Sequels, that's what I'll be looking into next.

I rate this book a 4*.

You should most definitely read over the winter period. It's not exactly festive, but it is probably one of the most real books I have read this year. Full of highs and lows, heartache and new love. Shari Low has the ability to give you all the feels and see into the lives of these individuals. You get to see everyone's point of view, all four stories rather than just one which I found ever so enchanting and beautiful.


So what are you waiting for? Does this sound like a your type of story? If so get yourself down to your local library and check it out. You won't regret it.

After all, tomorrow is another day spent reading.

Till next time,

Phoebe x

P.S. Shari Low retweeted my comment about reading her book in a lecture!

 

©2019 by The Yorkshire Bookworm. Proudly created with Wix.com